06 Boots vs Trail Runners Fix guide
Hiking Boot Comparison: Specs Side by Side
Every number here comes from a brand or retailer page, and every dash means the brand does not publish it. The dashes are as useful as the numbers.
- By
- Mike M.
- Updated
- Method
- How we choose

We earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides the ranking: the method is published. Affiliate disclosure
Which specs are actually worth comparing
Comparing hiking boots is harder than comparing almost any other outdoor product, because brands publish different things and none of them publishes the thing you want most, which is how it will feel on your foot. What they do publish reliably is weight and membrane. What they publish inconsistently is drop, lug depth and midsole material. What they almost never publish is a width measurement, a stiffness rating or a lifespan.
So a useful comparison works in this order. Width first, because a boot that does not come in your width is not a candidate regardless of its other specs. Then membrane, because that is a binary decision driven by where you hike. Then weight, which is the spec you feel on every step of every hike - the boots below range from 495 g to 800 g per shoe, which is a difference of more than half a kilo per pair. Then the construction details: drop, lug depth, midsole, shank and resoleability, in whichever order matters for your trips. Our full decision walkthrough is how to choose hiking boots.
Chart 1: day-hiking mids
These are the general-purpose waterproof mids most hikers should be comparing - mid cut, moderate stiffness, under 600 g a shoe. This is the segment where the Merrell Moab and KEEN Targhee sell in volume, and where lug depth is published often enough to be useful.
| Spec | Merrell Moab 3 Mid Waterproof | KEEN Targhee IV Mid Waterproof | Salomon X Ultra 5 Mid GTX | Danner Trail 2650 Mid GTX |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Weight | 495 g (men's, half pair); 410 g (women's, half pair) | 20.11 oz / 570 g (men's); 16.58 oz / 470 g (women's); shoe or pair not stated | 13.75 oz (women's, Zappos); men's not published | 28 oz per pair |
| Widths | Men's Medium, Wide (sizes 7-15); Women's Medium, Wide (sizes 5-12) | Men's standard, Wide; Women's standard, Wide | Men's D - Medium, E - Wide; Women's B - Medium | Men's D - Medium |
| Membrane | Merrell waterproof membrane (in-house, unnamed) | KEEN.DRY (in-house) | GORE-TEX | GORE-TEX |
| Drop | 11.5 mm | 12 mm | Not published | 8 mm |
| Lug depth | 5 mm | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Midsole | Super Rebound Compound with Merrell Air Cushion heel; molded nylon arch shank | Luftcell | EVA | Danner PlyoGo (EVA) with Danner Trailguard TPU shank |
| Outsole | Vibram TC5+ | KEEN.RUGGED (KEEN says "twice as abrasion-resistant as rubber") | All Terrain Contagrip | Vibram 460 (Megagrip) |
Chart 2: backpacking boots
Stiffer, taller and heavier, built to stay stable under a loaded pack over multiple days. Note what happens to weight: the Camino EVO GTX is 800 g a shoe against the Moab 3 Mid's 495 g. That is the price of a resoleable PU platform and a full-grain upper, and it is the single clearest trade-off in hiking footwear. These boots are ranked for load-carrying in best backpacking boots.
| Spec | Zamberlan 996 Vioz GTX | LOWA Camino EVO GTX | LOWA Renegade EVO GTX Mid | Salomon Quest 5 GTX |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Weight | 715 g (half pair, US 8) | 800 g single shoe | 590 g single shoe (men's); 485 g single shoe (women's) | 1 lb (Zappos; size and basis not stated) |
| Widths | Men's D - Medium, EE - Wide; women's Vioz GTX WNS listed | Men's Medium; a Wide option was listed but unavailable | Men's Medium, Wide; Women's (WS) Medium | Men's D - Medium |
| Membrane | GORE-TEX Performance Comfort | GORE-TEX lining | GORE-TEX lining | GORE-TEX |
| Upper | Hydrobloc Terracare full-grain leather | Heinen Terracare nubuck | Heinen Terracare nubuck | Leather; sensiFIT |
| Midsole | Not published | Dual-density DuraPU; LOWA rates the boot "Moderately Stiff" | Double-injection DuraPU/DynaPU | Not published |
| Outsole | Zamberlan Vibram 3D | Vibram Apptrail; resoleable | Vibram Rene Trac | Rubber (compound not named) |
| Construction | Resoleable; Flex-System ankle notch; made in Italy | Not published | Not published | Not published |
Chart 3: boots sold in a genuine Wide
The shortest list on this page, and the one that matters most if a standard width pinches. These four publish a Wide that you can actually order - and three of them publish it for women as well as men, which is rarer than it should be. The full ranking is best hiking boots for wide feet.
Three specs that mislead more than they help
Weight, when the basis is not stated. Some brands publish weight per shoe, some per pair, and some do not say. A boot listed at "1 lb" could be 454 g a shoe or 227 g, and the difference decides the comparison. Where a source does not state the basis, we say so in the chart rather than converting and guessing.
Width letters, across brands. A Merrell Wide, a KEEN Wide, an Oboz Wide and a 2E are not interchangeable, and no brand publishes the millimetres. Topo is the rare exception that defines its widths in letters. Treat a width label as "wider than this brand's standard" and nothing more - hiking boot widths explained has the detail.
Membrane names. GORE-TEX is a third-party membrane with published standards behind it; B-DRY, KEEN.DRY, Danner Dry and Merrell's unnamed in-house membrane are proprietary and have no published third-party rating. That does not make them bad - it makes them unverifiable, and worth less in a comparison than the marketing implies. Waterproof vs. non-waterproof hiking boots works through what a membrane does and does not buy.
How to use the chart without over-reading it
A spec chart narrows the field; it does not pick the boot. Per OrthoInfo (AAOS), a shoe that fits still has to let your toes move once it is laced, and no chart can tell you that. Use these charts to get from thirty boots to three, then try those three with your hiking socks, later in the day, and run the checks in how hiking boots should fit. If none of the three works, the problem is usually the last rather than the specs - and common hiking boot problems will tell you which part of the fit is failing.
How we chose
Scored on published specs, side by side
Every pick here is scored against the problem this page is about, using the brand's published specs, width and size charts, warranty terms and cited research. Every figure links to where it came from, so you can check any of it yourself — the full source list is at the bottom of the page.
Scores are editorial judgments from that published data, weighted for this page's problem. The weights are below. The full rubric is on How We Choose.
- Problem fit
- 30%
- Fit range
- 25%
- Support & protection
- 20%
- Durability & warranty
- 15%
- Weight
- 10%
The weights this page used for its scores.
FAQ
Questions people ask
What specs should I compare when buying hiking boots?
Why do some boots have no lug depth listed?
Is a heavier hiking boot better?
Can I compare a Merrell Wide directly with a 2E?
Keep going
Related fixes and picks
- How to choose hiking bootsThe decision the chart is meant to serve.
- Hiking boot widths explainedWhy width letters cannot be compared across brands.
- Best hiking bootsThe same field ranked rather than tabulated.
- Most durable hiking bootsWhich of these publish a resole or recraft path.
- Common hiking boot problemsWhen the specs are right and the fit still is not.
- How hiking boots should fitThe checks no spec chart can replace.
Update log
What changed
- First published.
Receipts
Sources
- 01Merrell: men's Moab 3 Mid Waterproof product page (accessed Sep 2026)
- 02KEEN: men's Targhee IV Mid Waterproof product page (accessed Sep 2026)
- 03LOWA: men's Renegade EVO GTX Mid product page (accessed Sep 2026)
- 04Zamberlan: 996 Vioz GTX product page (accessed Sep 2026)
- 05Oboz: men's Bridger Mid Waterproof product page (accessed Sep 2026)
- 06AAOS OrthoInfo: Athletic Shoes (accessed Sep 2026)
Specs, widths and materials come from the brand's own pages (or a named retailer's listing where the brand doesn't publish them); health information comes from the research and professional bodies linked above. Prices come live from Amazon and carry the date they were checked. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.