06 Boots vs Trail Runners Head to head
HOKA vs. Merrell Hiking Boots: Which Brand Fits You?
One brand tells you the numbers and sells four widths across a line; the other sells cushioning and keeps its boot specs to itself. Your foot width and your tolerance for unpublished specs decide this one.
- By
- Mike M.
- Updated
- Method
- How we choose

We earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides the ranking: the method is published. Affiliate disclosure
The verdict
Pick one in ten seconds

Pick for width options and published numbers
Merrell Moab 3 Mid GORE-TEX
7.2 / 10An 11.5 mm drop, 5 mm Vibram TC5+ lugs, a molded nylon shank and a men's Wide - all on the product page, with a women's Wide available on the non-GORE-TEX version.
$194.95Amazon#ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Merrell Moab 3 Mid GORE-TEX

Pick for cushioning under an ankle-high cuff
HOKA Kaha 3 GTX
6.7 / 10A dual-density sugarcane PU midsole and a Vibram Megagrip outsole, in exchange for Medium width only and no published drop or stack.
Check price on Amazon#ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · Affiliate disclosure for the link to HOKA Kaha 3 GTX
Specs side by side
These are the two brands' closest equivalents: leather-upper, GORE-TEX, mid-cut hiking boots. The blank cells are the story as much as the filled ones.
| Spec | Merrell Moab 3 Mid GORE-TEX | HOKA Kaha 3 GTX |
|---|---|---|
| Widths | Men's Medium, Wide (separate Wide product); Women's Medium | Men's D - Medium; Women's B - Medium |
| Weight | 490 g (men's, half pair); 400 g (women's, half pair) | 1 lb 4 oz (men's, measured on a size 7); 1 lb (women's) (Zappos; basis not stated) |
| Membrane | GORE-TEX | GORE-TEX Invisible Fit |
| Drop | 11.5 mm | Not published |
| Upper | Not published | Premium leather |
| Midsole | Super Rebound Compound with Air Cushion heel; molded nylon arch shank | Dual-density sugarcane PU |
| Outsole | Vibram TC5+ | Vibram Megagrip |
What each brand will tell you
This site ranks on published data, so a brand's willingness to publish is itself a specification - and on this measure the two are not close. Merrell's Moab 3 Mid GORE-TEX page states an 11.5 mm drop, a 5 mm lug depth, a Vibram TC5+ outsole, a Super Rebound Compound midsole with a molded nylon arch shank, and a half-pair weight for men and women separately (Merrell). That is enough to predict how the boot will behave on a descent before you have tried it on.
For the Kaha 3 GTX, the specs we could verify are the upper ("premium leather"), the membrane (GORE-TEX Invisible Fit), the midsole (dual-density sugarcane PU), the outsole (Vibram Megagrip) and a weight published for a size 7 (Zappos). No drop. No stack height. No lug depth. For a brand whose entire identity is the height of the foam under your foot, the absence of a stack figure on its hiking boots is a genuine oddity, and it is the reason HOKA scores lower on this page than its cushioning alone would suggest.
One caveat in HOKA's favor, stated plainly: our checks of HOKA's own site did not go through, so the HOKA figures here come from retailers - Zappos for the boots, Running Warehouse for the runners. If HOKA publishes a drop somewhere we could not reach, it is not reflected in our scoring. We would rather say that than quietly guess a number. The same approach is in the full HOKA ranking and Merrell ranking.
Width is where this is decided
For the reader this site is built for - the one who arrives with a foot problem rather than a brand preference - width settles it.
Merrell publishes the Moab 3 Mid Waterproof in Medium and Wide for both men and women, and sells the men's Wide GORE-TEX version as a separate product (Merrell's Wide Width page). HOKA's hiking boots, as listed on Zappos, come in men's D and women's B - a single width each. HOKA does cut a men's 2E in its trail-running line (the Speedgoat 7), so the brand is not width-blind; it just does not bring that to its boots.
So if you have been sent here by a toe that goes numb or a forefoot that burns after an hour, Merrell is where to start, and the ranked field is best hiking boots for wide feet. If you are a woman with wide feet, note the Merrell detail that catches people out: the women's GORE-TEX Moab is Medium only, while the women's Moab 3 Mid Waterproof does come in Wide, so the membrane choice and the width choice are tangled together - best hiking boots for women with wide feet has the rest of that field, and do Merrell boots run wide covers what Merrell's width words actually mean.
The women's side of each range
Both brands publish women's versions rather than treating them as a size run of the men's boot, and both publish a separate weight for them: Merrell lists 400 g per half pair for the women's Moab 3 Mid GORE-TEX against 490 g for the men's, and Zappos lists 1 lb for the women's Kaha 3 GTX against 1 lb 4 oz for the men's. That is the normal pattern and it is not the interesting part.
The interesting part is width again. The women's Moab 3 Mid Waterproof is sold in Medium and Wide; the women's GORE-TEX version of the same boot is Medium only, so a woman who needs a wide boot has to give up the GORE-TEX name and take Merrell's own membrane instead. HOKA's women's Kaha 3 GTX is listed in B - Medium, full stop. If you are a woman shopping either brand, check the exact listing rather than the model: on both sides the women's boot is a different product with its own width table and its own stock.
Cushion against ground feel
The real character difference is underfoot. HOKA builds a thick, dual-density midsole; Merrell builds a firmer compound over a molded nylon shank. Those are two different answers to the same problem, and which one suits you depends on what hurts.
Foam helps impact: tired legs on long descents, hard-packed trail, pavement on the approach. Structure helps leverage: a loaded pack, uneven rock, a long day where you do not want your arch doing the work of a shank. If your complaint is aching rather than bruising, read feet hurt after hiking before choosing a camp - and if your arches collapse under load, the shank matters more than the foam, which is why best hiking boots for plantar fasciitis leans on published support features rather than cushioning claims.
An honest limit on both: Merrell's 11.5 mm drop is high by modern standards, and HOKA's is unknown. If a flatter platform is what your calves want, neither brand is the answer here - Oboz publishes 8 mm and 12 mm options and says so on every boot.
Outsoles: Megagrip against TC5+
HOKA puts Vibram Megagrip on the Kaha 3 GTX, the Kaha 3 Low GTX and the Speedgoat 7. Merrell puts its own Vibram TC5+ compound on the Moab 3 and Moab Speed 2 lines, and reserves Megagrip for parts of its trail-running range, including the Agility Peak 6.
We are not going to rank the two compounds, because no published test lets us compare them on wet rock. What we can compare is lug depth, which both brands publish on most models: 5 mm on the Moab 3 mids and on the Speedgoat 7, 4 mm on the Moab Speed 2 GORE-TEX. HOKA publishes no lug depth for the Kaha 3 boots at all. Deeper lugs clear mud better and wear faster on rock - the trade-off is set out in best hiking boots for mud.
Below the boot: lows and trail runners
Most people comparing these two brands end up buying something lower than a mid, so it is worth seeing how the pattern holds further down each range.
| Spec | Merrell Moab Speed 2 GORE-TEX | HOKA Kaha 3 Low GTX | Merrell Agility Peak 6 | HOKA Speedgoat 7 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Widths | Men's Medium, Wide | Men's D - Medium | Men's Medium, Wide Width; women's sold | Men's D, 2E |
| Weight | 12.87 oz / 365 g (half pair) | 1 lb 1.1 oz (Zappos; size not stated) | 10.12 oz / 287 g (half pair, men's Wide Width page) | 9.6 oz / 272 g (men's 9) |
| Drop | 10 mm | Not published | 8 mm | 5 mm |
| Stack height | 34-24 mm | Not published | 38-30 mm | 38 mm heel / 33 mm forefoot |
| Lug depth | 4 mm | Not published | 5 mm | 5 mm |
| Membrane | GORE-TEX | GORE-TEX Invisible Fit | Not published | Not published |
| Outsole | Vibram TC5+ | Vibram Megagrip | Vibram Megagrip with traction lugs | Vibram Megagrip with Traction Lug |
The pattern repeats and then breaks. On the waterproof lows, Merrell publishes a 10 mm drop, a 34-24 mm stack, 4 mm lugs, a full-length rock plate and a men's Wide on the Moab Speed 2 GORE-TEX, while the Kaha 3 Low GTX lists a leather upper, Megagrip and GORE-TEX Invisible Fit with no drop, stack or width beyond men's D. On the trail runners it evens out: the Speedgoat 7 publishes a 5 mm drop, a 38/33 mm stack, 5 mm Megagrip lugs and a men's 2E - a fully specified shoe - but lists no rock plate, which the Agility Peak 6 does.
If a trail runner is where you are heading rather than a boot, best trail runners for hiking ranks both of these against the rest, and hiking boots vs. trail runners is the decision that comes first.
A note on availability
One practical difference that has nothing to do with specs: when we checked Amazon listings on October 30, 2026, Merrell's Moab models returned in-stock offers across sizes, while the Kaha 3 GTX listing we track came back as currently unavailable and the Kaha 3 Low GTX showed a single pair left. HOKA stock rotates hard, and a model that is current on the brand's own site can be thin or absent at any given retailer. Where a listing has no buyable offer, the buy buttons here fall back to a tagged Amazon search for the model rather than sending you to a dead page. It is worth checking the women's version separately: on both brands it is a different listing with its own stock.
The verdict
Merrell is the better brand for most readers of this site, and the reason is unglamorous: it fits more feet and it tells you more. Four widths across the Moab line including a women's Wide, a published drop and lug depth on nearly every model, a shank you can look up, and the deepest lugs in either range.
HOKA earns its place when cushioning is the problem you are solving and your foot is a standard width - long days on hard ground, a hiker coming back from impact-related soreness, someone who already knows HOKA foam suits them. Just go in knowing you are buying a feel rather than a spec sheet. If the leather upper is what drew you to the Kaha, our best leather hiking boots ranking is harsher about what "premium leather" does and does not tell you, and best hiking boot brands puts both brands against the rest of the field on fit, widths and warranty.
In detail
Both contenders, in full

Pick for width options and published numbers
Merrell Moab 3 Mid GORE-TEX
Built for
An 11.5 mm drop, 5 mm Vibram TC5+ lugs, a molded nylon shank and a men's Wide - all on the product page, with a women's Wide available on the non-GORE-TEX version.
Widths sold: Men's Medium, Wide; Women's Medium
Published specs (tap for source)
- Problem fit (30%)
- 8
- Fit range (25%)
- 7
- Support & protection (20%)
- 7
- Durability & warranty (15%)
- 7
- Weight (10%)
- 6
What it gets right
- GORE-TEX membrane
- Men's Wide sold as a separate product
- Pigskin leather and mesh upper with a recycled mesh lining
What it doesn't
- Women's version comes in Medium only
- 11.5 mm drop, high if you prefer a flatter shoe
Skip it if…
…you're a woman with wide feet: the women's GORE-TEX version is Medium only, while the Moab 3 Mid Waterproof comes in women's Wide.
#ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Merrell Moab 3 Mid GORE-TEX

Pick for cushioning under an ankle-high cuff
HOKA Kaha 3 GTX
Built for
A dual-density sugarcane PU midsole and a Vibram Megagrip outsole, in exchange for Medium width only and no published drop or stack.
Widths sold: Men's D - Medium; Women's B - Medium
Published specs (tap for source)
- Problem fit (30%)
- 7
- Fit range (25%)
- 6
- Support & protection (20%)
- 7
- Durability & warranty (15%)
- 7
- Weight (10%)
- 6
What it gets right
- Men's and women's versions
- Vibram Megagrip outsole
- Ankle-high cut with an Achilles-friendly collar
What it doesn't
- Medium width only (men's D, women's B) on Zappos
- Drop and stack height not published
- Men's weight published only for a size 7 (1 lb 4 oz)
Skip it if…
…you need a wide width: Zappos lists only D - Medium for men and B - Medium for women.
#ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · Affiliate disclosure for the link to HOKA Kaha 3 GTX
How we chose
Scored on published specs, side by side
Every pick here is scored against the problem this page is about, using the brand's published specs, width and size charts, warranty terms and cited research. Every figure links to where it came from, so you can check any of it yourself — the full source list is at the bottom of the page.
Scores are editorial judgments from that published data, weighted for this page's problem. The weights are below. The full rubric is on How We Choose.
- Problem fit
- 30%
- Fit range
- 25%
- Support & protection
- 20%
- Durability & warranty
- 15%
- Weight
- 10%
The weights this page used for its scores.
FAQ
Questions people ask
Is HOKA or Merrell better for wide feet?
Does HOKA publish a drop for its hiking boots?
Which brand has the better outsole?
Are HOKA hiking boots good for heavy packs?
Do HOKA boots fit true to size?
Keep going
Related fixes and picks
- Best Merrell hiking bootsThe whole Merrell range, ranked.
- Best HOKA hiking bootsThe whole HOKA range, ranked.
- Do Merrell boots run wide?What Merrell's Medium and Wide actually measure.
- Best leather hiking bootsWhere the Kaha's "premium leather" lands against named full-grain.
- Merrell Moab vs. Salomon X UltraThe other head-to-head most Moab shoppers read.
- Best trail runners for hikingIf the Speedgoat is where you are really heading.
Update log
What changed
- First published.
Receipts
Sources
- 01Merrell: men's Moab 3 Mid GORE-TEX product page (checked Sep 18, 2026)
- 02Merrell: men's Moab 3 Mid Waterproof Wide Width product page (checked Sep 18, 2026)
- 03Merrell: men's Moab Speed 2 GORE-TEX product page (checked Sep 18, 2026)
- 04Merrell: men's Agility Peak 6 Wide Width product page (checked Sep 18, 2026)
- 05Zappos: HOKA Kaha 3 GTX product page (checked Sep 18, 2026)
- 06Zappos: men's HOKA Kaha 3 Low GTX product page (checked Sep 18, 2026)
- 07Running Warehouse: men's HOKA Speedgoat 7 product page (checked Sep 18, 2026)
Specs, widths and materials come from the brand's own pages (or a named retailer's listing where the brand doesn't publish them); health information comes from the research and professional bodies linked above. Prices come live from Amazon and carry the date they were checked. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.